CelebrityHauteSpot

The latest news and interviews about Hollywood's rising stars

Screen Shot 2017-10-26 at 3.13.50 PM

Photo Credit: Brooke Dombroski

We recently had the chance to chat with the lovely Kimie Miner about new album out now, getting started in the entertainment industry, Haku Collective, and more! Check it out below!

1. How did you get your start singing?

From as far back as I can remember, I sang. I started on ʻukulele then at age 14, I taught myself to play guitar and began writing my own songs. Because of the diversity of cultures in Hawaii, I was inspired by a wide range of music from Hawaiian music to Jazz and R&B. I was influenced by artists like Israel Kamakawiwoole, India.Arie, Lauryn Hill, and Eva Cassidy.

2. Who are your favorite singers?

Whitney Houston was my favorite as a kid. I loved to belt my little heart out to I Will Always Love You. Stevie Wonder is another!!

3. How would you describe your sound?

Acoustic, soul, island pop, and reggae

4. Can you tell us about your single “Bamboo”? What inspired the song?

I live on the North Shore of O’ahu so I do a lot of driving. Inspired by the beauty on the east side of O’ahu, I like to write new songs. One day while driving I started singing this hook ‘bam bam booooo’ and I couldnʻt get it out of my head. During a co-write in Los Angeles, several months later, I shared my hook idea of ‘bam bam boo’ and we wrote the rest of the song based on my relationship with my boyfriend now. He and I had dated years earlier and then went our separate ways.

Verse 1 talks about my learning that real life is not a fairytale. The chorus then speaks of the storms in life that will come and the strength we have to have to make it through. “If I’ve got you, there’s no containing what we can do. We’ll see the world from a bird’s eye view. Yah we’ll be taller than bam bam boo, bamboo.” With each other we can be stronger and taller like Bamboo.

6. What was the recording process like?

It was interesting because I like to collaborate. So I collaborated on the writing with singer/songwriters, Jesse Epstein and Izik in Los Angeles. Then I came home and co-produced this song with Imua Garza and Dave Tucciarone. I think collaborating brings out the best in a piece of music.

7. What can fans expect to hear on your new album “Proud as the Sun”?

Proud as the Sun marks a new chapter in my life. Iʻm more comfortable in my own skin as a woman. This album reflects my influences from an island upbringing and my Hawaiian culture through the organic sounds and Hawaiian language but also showcases a mainstream pop sensibility.

8. How will this album be different from other music you’ve released previously?

There is a vein that runs through my new album – the theme of air, a bird’s eye view of everything, the idea of a new and broader perspective, growth, becoming more independent. My previous albums were themed around water (journeying, traveling) and land (reconnecting with my home).

9. Will you be going on tour?

Yes! Iʻll be in California and Arizona the first two weeks of December with another female artist, Tenelle. Tour dates will be announced very soon on KimieMiner.com

10. Do you have any other upcoming projects or anything that you want your fans to know about?

I started my own company, Haku Collective. Haku is a full-service music, audio, and talent production group providing access to the creative output from Hawai‘i’s emerging and leading artists, producers, composers, and musicians. We work with artists who are reaching across genres and driving the evolution of Hawaiian music and Hawaiian sound today. We also provide free mentorship programs throughout the year. You can find more at HakuHawaii.com

11. What are your social media accounts?

@playkimie on IG, twitter, and Facebook.com/playkimie

www.KimieMiner.com

 

Click HERE to subscribe to see more of Kimie on our channel in the future!

Leave a Reply

Discover more from CelebrityHauteSpot

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading